Take it From Me

Don’t worry.


What’s the best piece of advice you’ve given someone that you failed to take yourself?

This is a prompt I found on WordPress today and I couldn’t help but give my two cents.

It’s almost a joke that I should be telling people not to worry.  Anyone who knows me fairly well knows that I have awful anxiety.  I worry about things that might happen 10 years from now.  I’m terribly superstitious–if *this* thing happened *this* way 8 years ago, obviously that’s the way a similar situation is going to go nowadays.  It makes no sense the way my mind works sometimes.  It’s irrational to others and pretty irrational to me, too.

I love to listen to friends’ problems, though, and give advice.  It’s almost unfair for a person like me to tell others not to worry when I’m probably worry about something at the time.  For some reason, it makes a bigger impact when other people tell me not to worry than when I tell myself.  I really wish I could take my own advice.  Don’t worry would definitely be a piece of advice I give that I would love to be able to take myself.

6 thoughts on “Take it From Me

  1. Me too! I am a perpetual worrier. If I worry about one thing, for example calling in sick to work, suddenly it’s turned into me getting fired, then me being homeless, living in the street with my cat. Haha! It’s hard to take our own advice though!

Leave a Reply

