Celiac Problems

Since I started this blog, I’ve been reading a lot more on the internet about gluten-free eating than usual.  Recently, I saw some information about not eating specifically gluten-free foods.  Apparently, it’s healthier if you eat naturally gluten-free foods like quinoa, vegetables, fruits, meats, nuts, etc.  Now, I don’t constantly eat specially gluten-free foods (as I posted here), but maybe I’m eating too much of it.  Sadly, I still have some symptoms and I’m guessing it’s because I’m not eating enough natural foods like I listed above.

This is my cry for help.  I need to start eating healthier, more naturally gluten-free foods.  I need you out there!  For example, I’ve never had quinoa in my life.  I kind of steer clear of things that I can’t really pronounce.  But, does anyone have any good recipes or good ways to cook these foods?

1. Quinoa: Is it crunchy?  Is it soft like rice?  What do you cook with it?  So many questions.  Help!

2. Couscous: Basically, refer to #1.  I don’t have the guts (pun intended) to cook something like this. (I use Lundberg brand risotto that is gluten-free, so I’m guessing their couscous would probably be good, too.)

3. Seafood: I love me some fish.  I really do.  But I have yet to cook it myself.  I used to devour popcorn shrimp like no one’s business.  I want to use fresh seafood sometime to make a really awesome, delicious dinner/lunch.  (I have made shrimp fried rice, though, and it was amazing.  Frozen shrimp was used though. :()

4. Broccoli: Lord help me find a way to eat broccoli that doesn’t involve mounds of cheese.  I love the tops but the stems of broccoli scare me.  It feels like I’m eating a stalk of bamboo.

5.  Smoothies: I’m really, really bad at eating breakfast unless there is something right there that I’m specifically in the mood for.  This morning, I had an Udi’s blueberry muffin.  It was delicious, but again, it is made gluten-free and muffins aren’t exactly the best for you…so smoothies kind of catch my eye.  I love fruit!  So if I could put some carrots or fruit or anything else in a blender and call it a day, I’d be a happy camper!

6. Tofu: I can’t even believe I said that.  I keep looking back at that word wondering if I should delete it.  I’m torn.  Give me a good way to make tofu so I can change my mind.  I’m afraid it’s like eating a sponge.

If anyone, anyone has any way to help me with these foods, shoot me a comment below!  Or, you can email me.  My email address is on my about page.  I need to broaden my gluten-free horizons.  Please?  🙂

6 thoughts on “Celiac Problems

  1. I LOVE couscous and quinoa. They’re pretty interchangeable. Couscous isn’t gluten-free, though, unfortunately. It’s made from semolina flour. So I would avoid couscous, as it is probably specially altered if you’ve found a GF kind. Stick to quinoa. It’s really great with fresh corn, diced tomatoes, onions, cilantro, black beans, and lime juice. Add salt & pepper, and you’ve got a great dish. It’s good as a side, but if you add enough beans to get a decent portion of protein, it can be a main. I will look for some more recipes for you. Good luck!

  2. I am not on a gluten free diet, and eat couscous. I am not familiar with the “fake” one, but I cook it up and flavor it with butter, or olive oil/garlic. I also love lemon, so I have used that in it, and other times I have tossed in some roasted nuts or dried fruit into it.

Leave a Reply

