Surrounded by Gluten

Everywhere I go there is gluten.  It’s out to get me and it never leaves me alone.  And there’s nothing I can do about it!

Last Friday I was at work standing behind the counter and I thought to myself, man…this sucks.  Look at all of these cupcakes around me and I can’t even eat one.  I just stared.  Chocolate cake there…nope can’t have that.  A cookie on top of that one…that one either.  The frosting, though.  The miles and miles of frosting are gluten-free 99% of the time and you better believe I take part in that.

Anyway, here is what I saw that day.

  Look at all that gluten lurking in there looking so delicious.  Sigh.  I suppose I could eat that one walnut on top?  That’s just depressing.

Gluten-ous cheesecakes, too.  Not to be confused with gluttonous.  On a side note, you have no idea how many times I get asked about being “glutton-free” or even “glucose-free.”  I know since they don’t have Celiac they don’t think about it the way/as much as I do, but really?  Gluttonous?  Thanks!

And here’s one more cupcake to round it out.  Looks good, doesn’t it?  We could have those little pecans on top…and maybe an 1/8th of an inch of that frosting that’s not touching cake.

Okay, okay, I’m not trying to be bitter but I feel like I have to sometimes, you know?  I have to get some of my rage out every now and then and I think this is the perfect place to do it!  With all of you lovely gluten-freers 🙂

So, even after 8 hours of staring at these deathly (alright, not deathly) beauties, I went out to dinner.  And of all places, I go to a fish fry.  I love fish so much.  Fortunately, I have found a brand of breaded fish that I really love.  I will get back to you on that once I remember it.  There was soup and bread and breaded things all around me!  Going to restaurants still puts me on edge a little bit sometimes, but I deal with it as I go.  I’m not an extremely sensitive person, so if I get a little cross contamination in my food, I’m not paying for it days later.  Some places I have figured out that their gluten-free situation is really not good and I try to steer clear of it, but that only comes with experience.  For example, my school’s dining room.  Disaster.  It’s tough because it’s usually my only option for food, but the workers are extremely uneducated and they do not understand that I’m not doing it as a fad and it’s okay if I eat noodles a couple of times a week.  Doesn’t work that way!  This disease chose me.

–Rant over–

On a happier note, here’s something to make you smile.  I know it did for me!


Awwww, how precious! That’s my little baby Kramer.  I love coming home on weekends because he greets me like I haven’t seen him in years.  And then I get to stare at this adorable face.

Leave a Reply

